Thank you to our CMD Photographers:   Shona Williams, Glen Leyden, John Baker, Jim Campbell,Sherry Benko, Brad Johnson

Our Volunteers are worth their weight in gold. They share their time and talents without any compensation, their contributions are valued and without all of the people who generously gift their time to our community, we would not be able to host such a fun packed weekend. It is hard to find just the right words to show our appreciation for the countless hours, and even months that go into Coal Miner Days. Even though on the outside it appears as only 4 days... these events start the planning process as early as January. We would like to share our heartfelt thanks to the Coal Miner Days board members, Marcia Johnson (President), Dawn Weatherbee (Vice President), Alex  Millar ( Secretary/ Treasurer ) , Gene VonMatt ( Director ) , Andrea Horton (Director ), as well as Justin Bowen (CMD Event Co-Ordinator)

Sparwood Coal Miner Days Society would also like to thank our event organisers:

Ball Hockey Tourney: Barb Anderson of Fernie Ghost Riders
Baseball Ball Tourney: Dawn Weatherbee Alpine Lumber
Bike Rodeo: Tammy Ogdon with Teck
Duathalon: Jolene Grace
Emergency Awareness Day: Willy Mortimer with The Sparwood Fire Department
Golf Tourney: The Sparwood Chamber of Commerce
Pancake Breakfast: The Lions Club
EVGT: Marcia Johnson with Apex Power and Automation
Race: Sarina Beran with Remedys Rx

Our Team

Second Weekend in June Every Year

CMD Event Coordinator : Hiring 

  • Email:

About Coal Miner Days

Coal Miners Day goal is to highlight all of the great amenities our community has to offer. It is a celebration that brings everyone together through safe / fun memory making experiences! Sparwood has amazing volunteers, groups and businesses who come together to make the second weekend of June not only a jam packed weekend but also raises funds and awareness for many other organizations in our area.

Our Coal Miner Day board is made up of some great community supporters who are dedicated to building events that help highlight the beautiful area we live in:

President:  Jolene Grace


​                     Phone: 

Vice Chair: Dawn Weatherbee(Alpine Lumber)


Treasure: Kim Pidwerbeski

Secretary/ Former President: Marcia Johnson  (Owner of Apex Power & Automation )
Director: Gene Von Matt

Director :  Tracey Brook-Baker (East Kootney Community Credit Union)

​                    Email: